THANK TOWN

MANLY LAWN TENNIS CLUB

MANLY LAWN TENNIS CLUB LIMITED

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING Held on Saturday 7th November, 2020

Craig Withell, President (Chairman) declared the meeting open at 4.20pm. There was a delay due to the completion of a Club Champion event that a lot of the members wanted to see.

Craig welcomed all those present and confirmed everyone had signed the attendance record.

Attendees: Craig Withell, Ron Jeffs, Milton da Rocha, Tony Hamilton, Denis Crowley, Sarah Bunting, Peter Roberts, Hugo Stegmann, Harvey Romeike, Kristina Curtis, Geoff Dunstan, Ray Dummett, Des Tempany, Mark Fogel, Ian Bates, Ray Dalgairns, Lachlan Carroll, Jordan Hambury-Brown, Fernando Alves, Daniel Rodrigues, Narelle Kinsey, Bob Amaral, B Prakash, C Harris, Scott Blackburn, John Swanson, Jit Tomar, Chris Diaz, Scott Anderson

Apologies: Virginia Longfellow, Andrew Longfellow, Paul Wigney, Owen Kennedy, Vivianne Romeike and Yvonne Davis.

Acceptance of the Minutes of the EGM held on 21st December 2019.

The Chairman reminded members that the minutes of the 47th AGM held on the 11th November 2019 had been approved by members at the EGM

The Chairman noted EGM Minutes had been emailed out to members and asked that someone who was at those 2019 meetings and had read the Minutes would like to move a motion:

"That the Minutes of the Extraordinary General Meeting held on 21st December 2019 be accepted as true and correct record of those meetings".

Moved: Harvey Romeike Seconded: Denis Crowley

MANLY LAWN TENNIS CLUB



Motion was carried

48th ANNUAL REPORT for the year ended 31st August 2020

The 48th Annual Report having been circulated and tabled and before asking the members to consider the adoption of the 48th Annual Report, the President asked for a brief comment on each of the reports attached to the AGM papers.

President's Report:

The President stated that the year had been difficult due to the COVID crises. There were many and challenging issues that faced the committee and the Club members. However, despite all those issues the Club had a successful Badge season, strong Club Championships and remains in a healthy financial state. In addition, there has been a considerable amount of work done to enhance the Club and its facilities.

Craig expressed his thanks to the Committee members and Manly Tennis Centre for their efforts during a difficult year.

A special thanks For Ron Jeffs efforts and support over 18 years on the Committee who is now retiring from the committee.

Secretary's Report:

Virginia was unable to attend the meeting, however her report is in the Annual Report.

Treasurer's Report:

Hugo highlighted a few points that are detailed in his report. Namely, that the surplus had decreased by \$8,601 from last year which was directly the impact of the COVID crises. Despite that the Club has Cash Reserves of \$360,927. This cash balance is down from last year mainly due to the cost of re-surfacing of the courts.

Club Captain's Report:

Denis's report is contained in the Annual Report.

The President outlined the motion:

THE TOTAL PROPERTY OF THE PARTY OF THE PARTY

MANLY LAWN TENNIS CLUB

"That the meeting adopt the 48th Annual Report and the Financial Statements for the year ended 31 August 2020."

Mover: Harvey Romeike **Seconder:** Ray Dummett

Motion was carried

Election of Office Bearers for 2020/2021

The President declared that all positions on the Committee were now vacant. Craig then announced the following nominations for the Committee for 2020/2021.

Position	Nominee	Nominated	Seconded
President	Craig Withell	Robert Muir	Stephen Nettleton
Vice President	Tony Hamilton	Ron Jeffs	Peter Roberts
	Milton Da Rocha	Fernando Alves	Pabago Bender Sigbengichler
Secretary	Virginia Longfellow	Carolina Penne Lillo	Jitendra Tomar
Treasurer	Hugo Stegmann	Craig Withell	Virginia
			Longfellow
Club Captain	Denis Crowley	Virginia Longfellow	Tony Hamilton
Committee Member	Sarah Bunting	Ron Jeffs	Anthony Hardacre
Committee	Jon Corney	Craig Withell	Virginia
Member			Longfellow



MANLY LAWN TENNIS CLUB

Position	Nominee	Nominated	Seconded
Committee	Fernando Alves	Milton Da Rocha	Geoff Dunston
Member			

There were no other nominations from the floor.

In accordance with Article 40 of the Club's Constitution the nominees are hereby elected to the Committee.

Statutory Positions:

The President announced the following statutory positions:

Legal Counsel: Tim Coleman

Hon Licensee: Virginia Longfellow

Election of Selectors:

Men's	Nominated	Seconded
Denis Crowley	Virginia Longfellow	Milton Da Rocha
Scott Blackburn		
Ladies	Nominated	Seconded
Kristina Curtis	Denis Crowley	Des Tempany
Sarah Bunting	Denis Crowley	Ray Dummett

Auditor:

Article 70 of the Club Constitution applies and that is to nominate an Auditor.

The Motion is:

"that Hall Jackson Pty Limited be appointed auditors of the Manly Lawn Tennis Club Limited for the current financial year".

THE THE PARTY OF T

MANLY LAWN TENNIS CLUB

Moved by: Craig Withell

Seconded by: Hugo Stegmann

Motion was carried.

General Business:

Honorariums

Motion is:

"Pursuant to article 88 of the Club Constitution that, an honorarium payment of \$1500 be paid for services during the 2019/2020 year to each of the following – Club Secretary, Club Treasurer, Club Captain and Club Bar Manager".

Moved by: Ian Bates

Seconded by: Des Tempany

Motion was carried.

Life Membership – Ron Jeffs

Section 18 of the Club's Constitution allows for the appointment of honorary Life Members on the recommendation of the Committee but ratified by the members at a General Meeting.

Ron's achievements include:

- Club member from 1995 (25 years)
- Joined the Committee in 2001
- Vice President 2003 to present (17 years)
- Captain of 4 winning Badge teams

MANLY LAWN TENNIS CLUB

The motion is:

"That the members approve the granting of Life Membership to Ron Jeffs in recognition of his contribution to the Club over many years".

Moved by: Ian Bates

Seconded by: Peter Roberts

Motion was carried.

Ron thanked the President and fellow Committee members and expressed his delight at the granting of the life membership.

Other Matters:

Harvey Romeike thanked the Committee for their efforts in keeping the members safe during the continued COVID crises. He further congratulated the Committee for their efforts during a difficult year.

Closure:

The President thanked all those attending the meeting and as there was no further business and declared the meeting closed at 5.25pm.